Week 1: Breakfast Stuffed Acorn Squash, Bison Tacos, and Wonton Soup

Week 1 Summary

Stuffed Acorn Squash with Egg: This recipe was delicious. We didn’t  have any sausage so we just omitted it. I sautéed the acorn squash with coconut oil, onions, and Cajun season. The egg took almost twice as long to cook as the recipe called for but this recipe is definitely a keeper. We will attempt to make this again but using sausage or bacon with the acorn squash “guts”. This recipe was 248 calories, 8.8g protein, 28.9g carbs, and 12.4g fats. This is a great well rounded breakfast and adding in some sausage or bacon would ramp up the level of protein!

image

 

Bison Tacos: Typical tacos but tried ground Bison instead of ground beef. Cooked it just the same with Cajun spices and the meat was so delicious! I don’t think I will ever go back to regular beef tacos again.

Wonton Soup: I used this recipe as a general guideline, but I did not make my own wontons. I used these chicken cilantro wontons that I purchased from Costco (which are delicious, quick, and relatively inexpensive). This recipe is filling but has almost nothing to it. One bowl is less than 200 calories!

 

I will try to remember photos of my food for the future because, well photos make everything better.

 

Until next week, more cooking adventures await!

 

Leave a Reply

