Week 2: Curry Butternut Squash Soup and a Pesto Chicken Pizza

Week 2 Summary

I remade the acorn squash from last week with some chorizo when I sauteed the squash with onions, and I was sadly disappointed. I think the chorizo overpowered the more subtle flavors of the acorn squash. When I make this again (because I am sure I will) I will probably opt for bacon or breakfast sausage instead.

Pesto Chicken Pizza: I didn’t follow a recipe, I just threw it together. I bought pre-made pizza dough that I just had to unroll. I then put a generous layer of pesto that had parmigiano-reggiano cheese on top of the crust. Next, sliced tomatoes, some pre-grilled chicken because I didn’t have time to cook my own chicken up, and then finally some fresh mozzarella. It was topped off with some Italian blend spices. I cooked it at 375 for approximately 30 minutes. The pesto was really oily and the fresh tomatoes and mozzarella made it hard to determine when the pizza was done cooking. The pizza turned out delicious (super unhealthy though ~523 calories for 1/4 of the pizza with 30 g of fat 😦 but it was so good!). Unfortunately I did not uphold what I said last week, I forgot to take a photo of the pizza. One thing at a time, maybe this week will be the week!

Curry Buttercup Squash Soup: While I made the pesto chicken pizza I cooked a buttercup squash in the crock-pot (literally just drop the whole squash unprepared into the crock-pot, turn on high and let it go until pierce-able with a fork! It is so easy!). I then sauteed 1 Tbsp coconut oil, 3 small onions, 3 Tbsps of minced garlic, and 2 Tbsps red curry paste together. I then added the squash to this mixture and continued to cook it. I added a generous shake of yellow curry powder and ginger powder. I then added 6 cups of water, 1 can of coconut milk, and 2 Tbsps of vegetable bullion (better than bullion stock). After the soup was warm  I used my immersion blender to puree the soup. I let it cook for ~ 30 more minutes. The flavor of the soup was good, but it was a little on the watery side. I think I will probably re-heat it with some cornstarch to thicken it. The photo below is of the soup in a left over container after it has cooled. 🙂 Lunch for tomorrow.

Picture.jpg

This week should  be an exciting week I think I might attempt to make bone broth? (I hear it is suppose to be good for you), and a pork tenderloin with brussel sprouts. We will just have to see what comes of this week, next week! 🙂

 

Until next week, more cooking adventures await!

 

 

Leave a Reply

