Week 3: Teres Major

Week 3 Summary

This week was not as eventful as the previous ones, but it was a success! For the first time ever I wandered into the Conscience Carnivore on Sunday. I love that place! I will absolutely be back frequently. One of the women inside told me that I should try Teres Major, it is a cheaper alternative to beef tenderloin but it is typically harder to get to so it takes a skilled butcher to remove it.

The Teres Major did not disappoint. Here is a photo of it whole.

image

I seasoned the outside with chili powder, onion powder, garlic powder, salt and pepper. I seared each side of the Teres Major in a skillet for 2-3 minutes per side. I then finished it off in the oven at 400 for 5 minutes. I let it rest and then cut into it and it was beautiful! Now I know this is might be a little rare for some but it was perfect for me.

Next week (this week) is shaping up to be a little more interesting. I have a whole raw chicken in the fridge begging to be cooked and I am attempting bone broth (it is in the crockpot as I type).

Until next week, more cooking adventures await!

Leave a Reply

