Week 4: Roasted Chicken, Bone Broth, and Sole

Week 4 Summary

I completely succeeded in roasting a chicken this week! Look at this beautiful bird!

image

I use this recipe for Viking Chicken as an inspiration. I stuffed 2 limes cut in half inside the chicken. I rubbed the chicken skin with butter (real butter) and then coated it with salt, pepper, and some fox point seasoning from Penzy. I put the chicken on top of sliced onion, baby carrots, chopped celery and Brussels sprouts cut in half. I poured some coconut oil over the veggies and then covered them with some salt and pepper.

 

As I stated in my previous post I finally made bone broth. For those that haven’t heard of it, it is literally taking beef bones (you can get them at the grocery store or a Bucher, covering them with water (and veggies and seasoning), and letting it simmer for 24-36 hours. HOURS! The marrow and other nutrients infuse the water to make a healthy broth that some people drink plain or it makes a good base for soup. This is the website I was referencing when creating the broth. I made mine in the crockpot on low. After 12 hours I found the smell super nauseating, like rancid meat. However after simmering longer the smell was not as bad. After 36 hours of simmering, I put the broth in the refrigerator for one day and the fat solidified on top and I was able to scrap it off. Once the the broth cooled in the fridge it thickened to a jello like consistency. I didn’t take any pictures of the broth it was not very pretty. The broth tastes just like beef broth. Now I just have to figure out what to do with the bone broth (it is in the freezer now and from what I read it should be good for at least a few months).

I purchased some sole and pan fried it roughly following this recipe. The fish turned out delicious. I cooked it 2 minutes per side. I did not have a regular orange and I attempted to use a blood orange instead. Unfortunately the blood orange didn’t have the acidity that a regular orange would and the topping ended up being very sweet and rather unpleasant tasting. I might try the recipe again using a regular orange.

Well that is my round up for this week.

Until next week. More cooking adventures await!

 

 

Leave a Reply

