Week 7: Bone in Pork Chop, Carrot Salad, Roasted Sweet Potatoes, and Sirloin Roast

Week 7 Summary

Oh conscience carnivore, how I love you. If anyone in the Madison area is looking for meat products I cannot recommend them enough. They are a whole animal butcher that use use local grass fed animals. Conscience carnivore has a variety of meat product as well as eggs, cheese, and some local beers! I stopped by early in the week and picked up some bone-in pork chops and a sirloin roast. I am a fan of pork chops in general but these pork chops were so amazing. There is a huge difference from the cheap pork chops from the typical grocery store. So here is the round up of the new recipes I tried this week.

Bone-in Pork Chop, Carrot Salad, Sweet potato Side Dish. I followed this recipe for the pork chop. I brined the pork chop for ~1 hour before cooking and allowed the meat to get to room temperature before I seared them in the pan. Also based on other recipes I cooked the pork chop in the oven until it was at an internal temperature of 135 and then I let the meat rest on a plate covered with foil for 10 minutes. I deglazed the pan with some red wine and then reduced the wine with some onions and mushrooms.

This sweet potato side dish complimented the salty pork chop perfectly. I am not normally a sweet sweet Potato person (I usually like to make sweet potatoes salty / savory), but this recipe turned out really good.  I did not have cinnamon, so I substituted ground nutmeg. I think it worked out well, but I am also curious how the potatoes would turn out with cinnamon.

Hyvee had packages of shredded carrots on sale this week so I thought I would try this recipe. This recipe made a nice light carrot salad. I think this would be really good in the summer. I would add some onion powder and more mustard to the recipe.  The carrot salad was just “okay” day one. Day two we put some on a sandwich and the favors had more time to enhance and the crunch was perfect. I will probably make the salad again. I think it will be a great quick and easy dish to pass for the summer months.  Here is a picture of the pork chop dinner. It doesn’t look like much because I may have become distracted by the amazing smells and started eating right away.

image

 

I followed this recipe for the roast except I didn’t coat the roast in flour before searing the roast. I seared each side for 2 min 30 seconds each. I think I am getting the hang of cooking meat! This roast turned out well! See the photo below.

 

I am excited to see what I find for next week,  more cooking adventures await!

 

Leave a comment