Week 8 and 9: Breakfast Egg Muffins, Basted Eggs, and a different Carrot Salad

Week 8 and 9 Summary

The “gym” I belong to has started to provide meal plans to members looking to revamp their nutrition so that is where 2 of the 3 recipes I made these last two weeks comes from. The first one, Breakfast Egg Muffins, are quite possibly one of the easiest breakfasts I have made and it is up there for flavor as well. The recipe makes a full muffin pan (12) and I could not possibly eat that many before they would go bad so I decided to put have in the freezer. And the great breakfast food gets better because it microwaves from frozen very well too! (I microwaved one for 1:30 in 30 increment and it turned out perfect). The recipe is below the photo.

image
So Delicious and Pretty!

Egg Muffins Yields 12 servings

Ingredients ▪ 4 Tbs coconut oil ▪ 1/2 medium onion, diced ▪ 3 cloves garlic, minced ▪ 1/2 pound mushrooms, sliced ▪ 1/2 pound frozen spinach, thawed and squeezed dry ▪ 8 large eggs ▪ 1/2 cup Great Lakes Gelatin ▪ 1/4 cup 2% milk ▪ 2 Tbs coconut flour ▪ 1 cup cherry tomatoes, sliced ▪ Salt and Pepper to taste

Instructions: Preheat oven to 375°F and prepare veggies. ▪ Heat half the coconut oil over medium heat in a large skillet and sauté onions until soft and translucent. ▪ Add the garlic, spinach and mushrooms and cook until mushrooms moisture evaporates. ▪ Season with salt and pepper and spoon onto a plate to cool to room temperature. ▪ Beat eggs in a large bowl with gelatin, milk, coconut flour, salt, and pepper until fluffy then combine with cooled veggie mixture. ▪ Brush remainder of melted coconut oil into the cups of a 12-cup muffin tin and fill each cup with batter, top with tomatoes and bake about 20 minutes, keeping an eye on them and flipping pan around halfway through. ▪ Cool and serve.

 

The second adventure I embarked on was to learn a new way of cooking eggs. I love LOVE poached eggs and I have mastered how to cook them however they are very time consuming and hard to make for a large number of people. I came across an article on basted eggs here. Knowing I am challenging myself this year, and how much I love the incredible edible egg, I tried this recipe last weekend.  Let me tell you, the eggs turned out so fantastic and there was no hassle with cleanup up (unlike scrambled or fried eggs sometimes). Additionally this is very easy to cook eggs to anyone’s preferred runniness. I highly recommend basted eggs to anyone who likes to cook eggs.

 

The last but not least adventure this week was another carrot salad.  This one is just a plain grated carrot with a table spoon of apple cider vinegar, a table spoon of coconut oil, and a dash of salt. This supposedly helps with gut motility, so I am trying to eat one serving each day this week. Even if it doesn’t effect my gut motility, at least I am eating carrots. A photo of the carrot salad is below.

image

 

That is all for this weekly-ish round up. Until next time, more adventures await!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

