Weeks 10, 11, 12: Pork Tenderloin, Smoothie, Grilled Grouper, Broccoli Quiche, and Shrimp Salad

Well, I have been keeping up my cooking, I just haven’t been blogging about it. I hope to get back in the weekly blogging mode soon. I have been getting all of my other things in life back on track so I feel like this is the natural next step.

Weeks 10, 11, and 12 Summary

First up: Pork Tenderloin with sautéed peppers and onions

I used the following recipe (it can also be found here) to make my pork tenderloin. I did not stab it with the fork as she suggested.It turned out really well however I did have to cook it for 25-30 minutes in order to get it to the correct internal temperature.

Ingredients

1 tsp sea salt, or to taste
½ tsp freshly ground black pepper
1 tsp Italian Seasoning
1 tsp garlic powder
1 tsp ground coriander
2 Tbsp oil (vegetable oil, avocado oil or extra light olive oil – should have a high smoke point).
1 Pork Tenderloin (about 1¼ lb)

Instructions

How to make Roasted Pork Tenderloin: Preheat oven to 400˚F with the rack in the middle.
Trim tenderloin of fat and any silver skin and pat dry with a paper towel. Pierce pork loin all over with a fork and rub with 1 Tbsp oil.
Combine your seasonings and sprinkle onto the tenderloin then use your hands to rub the spices into the tenderloin until evenly coated.
Heat 1 Tbsp oil over med-high heat in a large oven-safe pan (cast iron or a dutch oven will work). Once oil is hot, add pork and brown on all sides (6 minutes total).
Place in the oven and bake uncovered at 400˚F for 13-15 min, flipping the tenderloin over halfway through baking. Bake until center of pork registers at least 150˚F then transfer to a cutting board and let meat rest 5-10 min. Slice into rings and serve.

 

Broccoli Quiche

image

The past two weeks I have been obsessed with making this broccoli quiche recipe on Sunday night and then eating the quiche for breakfast during the week. It is super simple, tastes great, and it is relatively healthy! It makes six servings

Ingredients ▪ Coconut oil ▪ 10 oz package frozen chopped broccoli ▪ 6 large eggs ▪ đ cup plain Greek yogurt ▪ 1 teaspoon salt ▪ Ɖ teaspoon ground pepper ▪ 1 tablespoon minced garlic ▪ ¦ cup or 3oz shredded sharp cheddar cheese

Instructions ▪ Preheat oven to 400F and coat a 9-inch pie dish with coconut oil ▪ Bring a medium pot of water to a boil. Add the broccoli and cook 1 minute, just to defrost then drain really well. ▪ In a large bowl, whisk together the eggs, yogurt, salt, black pepper and garlic. ▪ Stir in the broccoli and the cheese. Transfer the mixture to the prepared pie dish and bake until golden- brown and a knife inserted in center comes out clean, 30-35 minutes.

 

Smoothie

image

I got a magic bullet in a Christmas grab bag and I decided to put it to use. I have been enjoying making fruit smoothies for dinner when I am feeling too lazy to cook. What a could be easier than frozen fruit, milk or juice,  and yogurt! The recipe I used is below.

Ingredients ▪ 1 cup organic frozen mixed berries ▪ 1 frozen banana, cut into chunks ▪ 1 orange ▪ 2 tbsp Great Lakes Gelatin protein powder ▪ 5oz container Greek Yogurt ▪ ice cubes

Instructions ▪ Blend all ingredients until smooth

 

Grilled Grouper

image

I cannot take full credit for the photo above and unfortunately for anyone else,  I/we did not follow a recipe. While on vacation my brother and I grilled a grouper filet and made a grilled pineapple and pepper salsa. We served it over grilled asparagus. It was amazing! We use old bay seasoning on the fish and just oil salt and pepper on the asparagus. We served this with a fruity wine that complimented the dish very well.

 

Shrimp Salad

image

Also while on vacation we decided to make this recipe. I did not take a picture of this after we made it but it did turn out delicious with the fresh gulf shrimp. We added a grilled jalapeño to the recipe to give it some kick. This salad really turned into a salsa, it  was delicious on crackers and chips. If I were to make it again I would cut the shimp into smaller pieces and serve it with crackers.

 

Phew, now you and I are all caught up.

Until next week, more cooking adventures await!

 

Leave a Reply

