Week 16: Coffee Rubbed Chicken and French Toast!

Week 16 Summary

I have been intrigued by coffee rubbed steaks for a while, but whenever I am out at a restaurant I decide not to order it. I had some chicken thighs in the freezer so I decided to try a coffee rub on chicken. Let me tell you; it is interesting. I quite like it but it doesn’t really taste like coffee. It was best described as giving the chicken a bratwurst like taste. This is the website where I found the coffee rub I used. I used my spice mill and ground 2 tablespoons of dark roast coffee and then I added salt and pepper to the mix. I let the chicken marinate for 3o minutes and then cooked the thighs in the oven. I made a second batch of rub and let chicken breasts sit for about a day before I cooked them in the oven. I did’t notice much of a difference in the taste.

20160524_183647

 

I am not usually not a sweets person, especially for breakfast, but I was craving some french toast this weekend. It has been years since I have made french toast so I followed this recipe. I doubled the amount of cinnamon and added 1 teaspoon of nutmeg as well as using coconut flour instead of all-purpose flour. The amounts I used are as follows.

Ingredients: 1/4 cup coconut flour, 1 cup milk, 1 pinch salt, 3 eggs, 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon, 1 teaspoon ground nutmeg, 1 teaspoon vanilla extract, 1 tablespoon white sugar, 2 tablespoons of Great Lakes Gelatin, 8 pieces of HyVee cinnamon bread

The french toast turned out okay. I was expecting something a little more toast-like and the french toast to me was a little on the soft side. My guest was just happy to be able to use the syrup with breakfast, so I didn’t hear any complaints from him. The next day we toasted some of the left over pieces in the oven and made sandwiches with bacon and fried eggs which turned out delicious.

French Toast

 

Until next week, more cooking adventures await!

 

Leave a Reply

