Weeks 20, 21, and 22: Pineapple BBQ Chicken over a Fire, Poppy Seed Dressing, Pattypan Squash Salad, Chicken Parmigiana, Peach Balsamic Chicken

Weeks 20, 21, and 22 Summaries

 

Pineapple BBQ Chicken

While camping over the 4th of July I decided I wanted to try to cook something other than burgers and brats and I came across this recipe. The recipe only needed a few ingredients and I already had a fresh pineapple cut up. I did not cut the chicken breasts prior to cooking because I didn’t want to handle the raw chicken while camping more than I needed to. I just created 4 foil packets for each chicken breast, placed the veggies and fruit on top, and then covered each with Sweet Baby Rays BBQ sauce. The packets were cooked for approximately 15 minutes per side. One of the chicken breasts was larger than the other and required and addition 5-10 minutes of cooking. We shred the chicken after cooking it and served the chicken in pitas that were warmed over the fire. The flavors were very good, but in the future I will probably pre-cut everything and mix it all in a bag before cooking to marinate. I will also probably add some salt and may be red pepper flakes, I was missing a little heat from this dish. Sorry I did not take a photo while camping. I left the phone in the tent!

 

Poppy Seed Dressing

Strawberries are in season and therefore it is time for strawberry salads with poppy seed dressing. I decided to attempt to create my on instead of getting one of the pre-made ones at the store. This recipe was rather simple and was really easy to make. I used a blender to mix all the ingredients. This recipe was not really sweet even though it uses 1/3 cup of sugar. If you are looking for a sweeter tasting poppy seed dressing I bet you could sub honey or agave nectar instead of the sugar to get a sweeter dressing. This recipe made a lot of dressing which we proceeded to use up the rest of the week. There is no picture since I stored the dressing in an old sour cream container and it wasn’t very picturesque.

 

Pattypan Squash  Salad

While at the farmers market I picked up some pattypan squash. I found this recipe and I figured a squash and shrimp salad sounded like a perfect light summer dinner. I will admit I did not really follow this recipe, cooking shrimp in the oven made me nervous. I didn’t want to over cook and entire batch of shrimp. I cooked the shrimp using the recipe I posted about previously (here). I quartered the pattypan squash and sauteed them in butter with garlic salt and Penzy’s foxtrot seasoning. I put the cooled shrimp and squash on a bed of spring mix lettuce and I topped it off with St. Elmo’s Cocktail sauce. While it may be an unconventional combination of flavors, I have been using this cocktail sauce a few times for salad dressing with shrimp on it. I enjoy the horseradish in the sauce.

20160712_190831

 

Chicken Parmigiana

I was bragging about how I use to make a kick butt chicken parmigiana so I got called out to make it. I will admit I was nervous because it has been a while since I made chicken parmigiana. I used my mom’s knowledge and this recipe to attempt my once delicious chicken parmigiana. I made 6 chicken breasts. I first dipped the chicken breasts into a bowl of milk. Then into a bowl of whole wheat flour. Then into a bowl with 2 eggs with 1/2 cup of water. Then into a bowl with Italian seasoned bread crumbs that I added 1/4 cup of parmesan cheese into. Once all of the chicken breasts were covered I placed them  on a baking tray lined with foil with a wire rack on it so that the chicken would get nice and crispy. I baked the chicken for 15 minutes on each side and then an addition 10-15 minutes. I used a meat thermometer and took the chicken out of the oven when the chicken ready 160.

To make the sauce, I sauteed a large shallot  with 6 sliced mushrooms. Once they were soft I added a 5 cloves of garlic and sauteed for 1 more minute. I then added 2 jars of Newman’s Own spaghetti sauce (fire roasted tomato and basil and mushroom). I rinsed both containers with a heavy had of Shiraz wine and added that to the sauce. I let the sauce simmer for a good 30 minutes.

I placed 2 cups of sauce on the bottom of a 9×13 pan and then place 4 of the chicken breasts in the pan. I then topped each breast with sauce. I then added sliced basil to each chicken breast and then topped each one with a slice of provolone cheese. I placed the pan back into the over for another 15 minutes until the sauce was bubbly and the  cheese was brown. We served the chicken parmigiana over fettuccine.  The only thing I would change is I would use a meat tenderizer to pound the chicken breasts a little flatter to even them out a little before breading them, but other than that this dish turned out great! We used 2 of the chicken breasts that were breaded and baked but not sauced to make buffalo chicken sandwiches 2 days later. 🙂

 

Peach Balsamic Chicken

This recipe is amazing! It is from the recipe book my gym sends out every month and it had really good flavors. The only thing I changed was that I didn’t have fresh basil so I had to used dried basil.

Ingredients ▪ 1 tbsp coconut oil ▪ 4 boneless skinless chicken breasts ▪ kosher salt  ▪ Freshly ground black pepper ▪ 2 cloves garlic, minced ▪ 1 shallot, chopped ▪ 5 large peaches, sliced ▪ 1/4 c. balsamic vinegar ▪ 1/3 c. torn fresh basil

Instructions ▪ In a large skillet over medium heat, heat coconut oil and season chicken with salt and pepper. ▪ Cook in skillet until golden and no longer pink, 8 minutes per side then transfer to a plate. ▪ Add garlic and shallot to skillet and sauté 2 minutes then add peaches and cook until softened, 5 minutes more. ▪ Pour in balsamic vinegar and simmer until slightly reduced, 2 minutes. Stir in basil and serve the chicken with the balsamic peaches.

I swear there is chicken in the picture below – it is just covered by all of the peaches and delicious juice!

20160720_181113

 

Until next time, more cooking adventures await!

Leave a Reply

