Weeks 44 and 45; Potato Gnocchi, Rack of Lamb, Cocktail Sauce, Lasagna, Baked Brie, Banana Bread, Enchiladas

This is going to be my last official post to wrap up this year. I have really enjoyed cooking and blogging about my recipes here. This has re-sparked my passion for cooking, and I cooked way more than I originally expected. I have enjoyed keeping the blog, and I might post throughout future years when I find particularly delicious recipes.  Here is my wrap-up of the year.

Potato Gnocchi

I followed this recipe to attempt gnocchi. I made gnocchi years ago and they turned out well. This recipe however did not turn out real well. They turned out more like mashed potatoes. This recipe made a lot, and I have 2 bags in the freezer. I think part of the reason the gnocchi didn’t cook right was because I used frozen gnocchi and I think I put too many gnocchi in the pot at 1 time. In reading different comments on the recipe, by putting too many frozen gnocchi in the pot at 1 time might drop the temperature of the water too much and the doesn’t allow the gnocchi to cook properly. I will attempt to cook the gnocchi in a smaller batch next time (~10 pieces at a time).

 

Rack of Lamb

I have heard that rack of lamb is not as intimidating as it seems, so I decided to give it a try (after watching lots of Hells Kitchen!). I followed this recipe. I followed the recipe to a T, however the lamb was a little on the rare side. After cooking it in the oven I separated each lamb chop and then continued to sear each chop in the pan. The lamb was delicious, and I will definitely be making it again to work on getting the temperature correct!

 

Cocktail Sauce

Cocktail sauce is super easy to make and I will definitely be making this again! I highly recommend not buying store bought cocktail sauce and to follow this recipe. I will be keeping horseradish on hand!

 

Lasagna

I made a vegetable lasagna soup and I had left over cooked pasta. I decided to attempt to make an actual lasagna. I used this recipe. I also placed fresh spinach between layers of the pasta. This lasagna turned out amazing! It was even better day 2. I have never made lasagna because I have heard it is a lot of work. By cooking the pasta days before, and using jarred sauce (but adding extra veggies) I actually found that this lasagna was really easy to assemble. I will be making this again for sure.

 

Baked Brie

This is going to be my new go to for parties. I have purchased store puff pastry wrapped brie before but this recipe was so simple and cheaper! There were rant reviews from everyone who tried it. I am curious to try this with different combinations of toppings.

 

Banana Bread

My mom makes the best banana bread. I got the recipe from her and made it my self. The bread turned out amazing and they guys definitely didn’t argue with helping me eat it.  The recipe is as follows:

1/2 cup shortening (I used coconut oil)
1 cup sugar
2 eggs
3/4 cup mashed ripe bananas
1 1/4 cup flour
3/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt

Preheat the oven to 350°. Cream shortening and sugar until fluffy. Add eggs one at a time, beating well after each. Stir in banana. Sift together dry ingredients; add to banana mixture; mix well. Pour into a greased pan. Bake at 350° for 30 to 35 minutes.

 

Enchiladas

These cheese / onion enchiladas were delicious. I used this recipe mostly for cooking instruction. I put sauce in the bottom of a 9 x 13 pan, put tortillas with cheese and onions in the pan, and then topped with sauce. I made 2 pans so I could use 2 different sauces.

20170101_163719

 

Leave a Reply

